A Few Notes About Aspirations

“Shoot for the stars,” they say.  “Follow your dreams,” they say.  Well, what if I have too many dreams to follow?  Really.  I kind of wish that the Hindus are right about the whole reincarnation thing.  I want to do so many different things with my life that I just don’t have the time for in one lifetime.  Think about it.  There has always been that one thing you’ve wanted to try, that one activity you’ve wanted to get involved in, but you just haven’t had the time or the opportunity to do so.  Even thinking about my future, there are many careers I’d like to have from all over the spectrum.  Engineer, teacher, social worker, professional musician, farmer….  I could divide my life into segments for each new career path, but that’s just not plausible.  I’m not Stalin; I can’t do everything in five years.  I’d probably go crazy, to be honest.  I don’t want to do so many things just to say that I’ve done them all.  I’d rather focus my time on one thing, and then maybe dabble in a few others on the side.  I want to be able to get better and better at something my whole life and make concrete accomplishments in that field rather than becoming quasi-decent at ten different things.  The difficult part about it all is that I’d like to spend a lifetime on each!  Unfortunately, I am not a cat.  I must choose what I most want to focus my efforts on to positively impact the world.  Guess I’ll just need to experiment.  With college coming around, my feet will be in the water soon enough.  If you’re trying to make an important decision that will affect the rest of your life, too, know that it’s okay to not know what the best plan of action is.  I’ve come to accept that.  Try something.  If it doesn’t work, congratulations – you’re one step closer to finding out.

Years ago, I was watching the Disney Channel and a short blurb about dreaming big came on.  I’ve always remembered what one kid said:  “I don’t follow my dreams.  I chase ’em.”  The more I ponder this, the more I dig what this guy has to say.  It’s almost illogical to just follow your dreams.  You can’t just frolic around in a flowery meadow, run into your dreams by a cute little pond and say, “Hey, thanks for waiting up, dream, it’s so good to finally reach you.”  Ha.  No.  If your dream has direction, it’s not stopping to wait for you.  Go after it.  Be aggressive.  Although…if you think about it like that, your dream doesn’t have legs, so it can’t really go anywhere in the first place.  Dreams are just fragments of imagination until a person dedicates themselves to a dream and “runs with it,” so to say.  Then maybe you can neither follow nor chase a dream because that dream isn’t actually going anywhere until you take it somewhere.  You are your dreams’ transportation.  Get off that struggle bus, and drive the dream-mobile!  (Like Batman, but better.)  While you can’t really chase a dream, you can hunt down the information and experiences needed to make that dream a reality.  Alright, enough about dreams.  Go make yours come true.  Let’s make the world a better place, people!

Leave a Reply

